History of the School
Kelso High was opened for the first time on the 27th of January, 1976, as a demountable high school in Waterworks Lane, Gorman’s Hill, Bathurst. It commenced with a teaching staff of 16, an ancillary staff of 8 and a student enrolment of 236, divided almost equally between Years 7 and 8. The need for this new school had been due to an anticipated increase in the population of Bathurst and it was evident that Bathurst High School would no longer be able to cope with the increased demand for public education in Bathurst.
1978 saw the move from the demountable school into a brand new school at a completely different site. The new school was able to accommodate 1000 students. However, during its first year of opening it only offered Years 7-10 and had approximately 500 students enrolled. The school was state of the art and attracted interest from all around NSW.
On Friday the 19th August, 2005, tragedy struck when a fire destroyed the school, leaving only one building standing. Following the fire students were accommodated at four different locations throughout Bathurst while a new demountable school was erected. Over 50 demountables were brought in from all across NSW to ensure that the school remained operational.
Denison College of Secondary Education started operation in 2007. It is a unique partnership between Kelso High Campus and Bathurst High Campus under the leadership of the College and Campus Principals.
In 2008, the new buildings of Denison College Kelso High Campus were opened. The new amenities provided the most up to date educational facilities. They were formally opened by the Minister for Education in June 2008.